Dishonorable Addiction

So, here is the first post detailing a fraction of my gaming addiction, and all things considered, I’m quite proud of it. Enjoy. 🙂 – CW


– Spoilers to follow –

Many Gamers who have played Dishonored, liked it so much that they bought the DLCs, will already know some of what I am just now discovering. Since the definitive edition comes equipped with all three DLCs, plus bonus items, I finally got to try out The Knife of Dunwall. And man, it is both amazing and.. not.

definitive

Received the Definitive Edition for my Birthday.

After finally, finally gaining the Platinum on the campaign, on both PS3 and PS4 platforms, I immediately switched over to try out the first DLC starring Daud, and made the mistake of shackling myself to a stealth run on the first playthrough. Maybe it is because of this that the add-on doesn’t feel quite right. There is nothing really major to tell Daud and Corvo apart, except the former’s suddenly unnerving ability to talk to NPCs, making me all too aware that he is not Corvo. Then there is the presence of Billie Lurk. It’s fair enough that Daud is a master assassin, and it stands to reason he will have at least one lackey tailing him about, but Corvo worked alone. I’m too used to every other NPC I meet being a potential threat, to just fall in with suddenly having a mission partner. Every time she appears, the sound of Lurk’s Blink makes me jump, a keen reminder of the Flooded District mission and its murderful inhabitants.

I realise that for many it won’t make a difference, but I also feel obliged to point out that I killed a whale in the first mission. A whale. It was the most distressing thing I have done in Dishonored, especially since the mammal’s suffering was shoved right in my face; a huge gash in its belly, and suckers attached to its side. To add insult to injury, there is yet another side quest requiring the remaining eye of said dead whale. Maybe I’m just sensitive – I suppose it does tie in with the goriness of rats tearing into a corpse, mobs nonchalantly peeing in front of you, and zombies spewing everywhere. All part of the Dishonored charm, I guess.

Aside from all this, I do get that Daud should not be a carbon-Corvo, and I do enjoy the same-but-not-quite game mechanics. Having completed the game since starting this post, I can say that the High Chaos run went far better towards my immersion into the game.

My biggest problem with gaming is the amount of time I spend between twiddling my analogues and reading up on every scrap of game data I can get my hands on. For instance, the first words of the Outsider in The Knife of Dunwall really got my attention, so naturally I had to read more. There are eight people in the world during the events of Dishonored, who possess the mark of the Outsider. The article that provided this titbit before I played, even supplied a list of suspects, including Daud, Vera Moray (Granny Rags) and our own Corvo Attano. But the last name puzzled me; Emily Kaldwin. Now I thought I knew for a fact that Emily had shown no such influence in the original game. And she hadn’t.

There was just one little clue that suggested she had seen the Outsider at all. Upon waking after the Kaldwin’s bridge mission, Emily will be in Corvo’s room asking to stay – if the selected answer is basically “go back to your own room”, she will say that she has seen the ghost haunting her tower, and that he had “weird black eyes”. Sound familiar? Later on, after returning from the Boyle mansion, I noticed that Callista, who we would usually find trying to teach Emily, was sitting alone, while Emily was playing hide and seek. Having this conversation with Callista grants a side quest which, upon finding the little Empress, rewards a rune. She will say that she found it on the river bed and put it under her pillow for luck, but she started having bad dreams. It could be suggested here that her dreams were of the Void, due to the nature of the object that gave her the dreams..

Following on from my recent Dishonored binge I recently watched the new trailer for Dishonored 2. While it looks awesome as hell, it was disappointing to find how little effort was apparently put into concealing the identity of its new protagonist, especially since there would have been a lot more hype about who she could possibly be, over the coming months before release. Instead, she is almost immediately introduced as Emily Kaldwin by the potential antagonist. That is not to say the game looks like it won’t take many sleepless nights of research and skill-honing to master. It really does. I especially like the idea of being able to play the game over and over, exploring a plethora of action paths from either Corvo or Emily’s perspective. Definitely both. I look forward to hunting down every last secret, and of course, working towards another Platinum notch in my PS4 belt.


(Edit) As predicted, I finished both The Knife of Dunwall and The Brigmore Witches, and though I don’t regret the decision to play, I was disappointed when it was over – due to the trophy selection (the only reason I play games at all) there were limits to how one could play the game. Getting all of the trophies only took two playthroughs after which there was no point playing anymore, and so I felt like I couldn’t play exactly how I wanted. Maybe I’ll break my rule after all, go back just one more time..


As per usual, feel free to share your thoughts on the game. Did anyone do it differently? I hoped you enjoyed it. 🙂 – CW

One thought on “Dishonorable Addiction

Leave a Reply

