Happy New Year!

Firstly, I hope everyone had a good Christmas, and that we are not all currently suffering from eggnog poisoning! After a previous entry on the DLCs for Dragon Age: Inquisition, I did intend to post another one just before the 25th, regarding some very strong impressions on the subject – mainly frustration, betrayal and a seething disappointment which has only just died down. Unfortunately, it became apparent that my ability to write about it was compromised by personal feelings, hence the reason it hasn’t gone up yet, if it does at all.

So, clean slate then. 2016.

I suppose the question to ask here would be about New Year’s resolutions. Personally, it feels like I haven’t had time to concoct any, or rather, none that have been well thought-out or fully-formed. That would be the result of spending the holidays trying to see everyone at once, tidying up multiple party messes and eating far too much food. All this chaos makes one feel a bit like an orange-haired Howl really.

Howl-s-Moving-Castle-howls-moving-castle-4891161-852-480

On the other hand, here are some immediate thoughts I’ve had so far:

Get a job.            2015 was good for graduating with a reasonable grade, but it’s past time to up the game this year, and go on to become awesome at an actual paying job. It looks like I’ll be off to a winning start on this one however, since I’ve been invited to do a couple of weeks where C works, which I will definitely take up! Recruitment agencies will be contacted too; in fact I have an appointment with an education–oriented agency this month, which can help getting me in as a teaching assistant, so something else to look forward to.

Learn to drive.  Well, technically, I already know how to drive, but past attempts at the theory have not yet yielded good results. No excuses this year though – I have a good Theory program to use for practicing, a personal cheerleader to egg me on (C), and the incentive to make this the year I get stuff done!

Read more.        As an English Graduate, reading was royally spoiled for me during University, to the point where picking up a book for pleasure became absolutely impossible. I began to get back into it in 2015, reading a set little bit everyday, and not even a book you’d usually use for light reading (The Creative Writing Coursebook, Julia Bell and Paul Magrs). The challenge I’m setting myself will be to read twelve books this year, minimum, one for every month. It might not sound like much, but when you think about it, twelve books is probably more than a lot of people read in any one year, without the push of studies or book clubs. And who knows; if I succeed, or indeed surpass expectations, I might take up that 101 books challenge for next year. At this point however, pigs might fly.

Keep in Touch.             This one may seem like an easy one in this day and age, but my lack of funds and mostly free transport has cut me off from most of my family over the last few years, to the point where I know very little about what is going on in their lives. This is especially true for the half that I don’t share a hometown with, given that keeping up-to-date online is not an option for many of them.

I can’t think of any others to add to my list right at this moment, and I’m well aware that my choices are generic by most standards. It’s what comes of writing a post in a day, with only one thought in my head: it must be done today. Hopefully this demonstrates my ability to work well under pressure.

By posting this ambitious list, the hope is that I will be motivated into actually completing it, or else look like a ninny for failing to keep to my own minimum requirements. As usual, it would be lovely to hear from anyone who likes/dislikes my choices, or perhaps wishes to share their own; what methods do you use to get inspired?

Bottom

Leave a Reply

